Jasmine loves going to Taekwon-Do

IMG 20141218 1721122 168x300 Jasmine loves going to Taekwon Do

Jasmine has been attending Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do for over three years and it has greatly improved her life. Jasmine started in the tot’s class, moving up to the Junior class after reaching yellow belt. Mr Howard Mayes is an excellent instructor, instilling core values of respect, discipline and perseverance underlying his teachings of mental and physical fitness. What’s more, all techniques are explained to the children at their level with them sat cross-legged, rapt with attention.

The classes are structured, broken down into different periods to cover patterns, pad work, self-defence techniques and prepared and free sparring. All lessons are begun by warming up exercises delivered in a fun, challenging way. For part of the lesson, the students are separated into groups based around grade. Lessons are further supplemented by competitions and the bi-monthly extreme teams which Jasmine loves as she gets to do flying kicks and to punch a pad whilst Mr Mayes tries to hit her with a pad-stick!

It has been lovely to watch Jasmine progress over the years and become stronger, more confident and more focussed as she has progressed through the belts. Mr Mayes constantly emphasises the importance of conflict resolution and avoidance over confrontation and as a parent it is reassuring to know Jasmine is being equipped to defend herself should the need ever arise.

Jasmine loves going to Taekwon-Do and now takes great pride in showing off her newly-learned patterns and moves at family gatherings!

Rating: star Jasmine loves going to Taekwon Do star Jasmine loves going to Taekwon Do star Jasmine loves going to Taekwon Do star Jasmine loves going to Taekwon Do star Jasmine loves going to Taekwon Do  – Richard Howard (Jasmine’s Dad)

#Brighton #Hove #Taekwondo #ChildrensClasses

Taekwon-Do has made me stronger both physically and mentally

MiloHaydenReviews Dec14 008 200x300  Taekwon Do has made me stronger both physically and mentallyTaekwon-Do is so much fun and you will quickly improve your fitness, flexibility and stamina under Howard Mayes’ brilliant leadership and training program. Taekwon-Do has made me stronger both physically and mentally – try it today, you won’t regret it!!!

Rating: star  Taekwon Do has made me stronger both physically and mentallystar  Taekwon Do has made me stronger both physically and mentallystar  Taekwon Do has made me stronger both physically and mentallystar  Taekwon Do has made me stronger both physically and mentallystar  Taekwon Do has made me stronger both physically and mentally – Lee Rosenstand

Brighton Martial Arts

#Brighton #Hove #Taekwondo

Ewan looks forward to Taekwon-Do classes every week

JamaicaWorldCup + tuv sept2014 002 198x300 Ewan looks forward to Taekwon Do classes every weekEwan looks forward to Howard Mayes’ Taekwon-Do classes every week.

He’s been going to Taekwon-Do now for 4 years and is still enjoying his training very much. It’s been really interesting watching his skills develop over the years.

Taekwon-Do has certainly been of great benefit to Ewan and his training has helped him in other areas of his life. The lessons are well balanced, challenging with focus on respect and self control whilst also clearly a lot of fun.

This is a great thing to get your kids involved with. The look of pride on their faces when they achieve a goal is priceless. A healthy and worthwhile thing to do. Get involved.

Rating: star Ewan looks forward to Taekwon Do classes every weekstar Ewan looks forward to Taekwon Do classes every weekstar Ewan looks forward to Taekwon Do classes every weekstar Ewan looks forward to Taekwon Do classes every weekstar Ewan looks forward to Taekwon Do classes every week – Stuart Brown (Father)

Brighton Martial Arts

It is one of the best decisions I have made on behalf of my kids.

NewBBsReviews 300914 008 198x300 It is one of the best decisions I have made on behalf of my kids.A number of years ago my son, Alex, started at Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School to improve his concentration skills whilst exercising. After a few years his sister, Lauren, also joined the same class. Both have enjoyed the mixed skill children’s classes, and are happily working their way up the gradings.
When starting the class it could seem quite daunting. However, to allay fears, after an initial warm up, they split the class into varied skill level groups and are given concentrated tuition from either Howard Mayes or his red or black belt assistant instructors. This also varies during the class as they learn stances and patterns followed by kicks and blocks using pads. Howard and his assistant instructors are very patient and encourage the children in an inspirational way. Some of the assistants are only a few years older than the children with black belts and world championship trophies to their names. This has definitely given my children something to strive towards.
New starters can gradually make their way up to the yellow belt using the stripes method. This breaks down Taekwon-Do learning into manageable chunks. Each time they earn a stripe, you can see the sense of achievement in the children’s faces.
Howard Mayes is an interactive tutor who shows the children the stances and patterns whilst explaining the reasons behind these. He commands respect and holds the class’ attention well. I am impressed when he recalls each child’s name (no matter how new to the class), speaks to the children whilst maintaining eye contact, encourages questions, and should a younger child experience a ‘wobble’, he can be seen getting down to their level and encouraging them to bounce back.
It should also be mentioned that Taekwon-Do is about respect, defence and confidence. I can see these 3 elements growing in my children and I know they fully understand the skills they are learning are for defence only. Knowing this allows my children to have more confidence within themselves and improves their self esteem. It is one of the best decisions I have made on behalf of my kids.

Rating: star It is one of the best decisions I have made on behalf of my kids.star It is one of the best decisions I have made on behalf of my kids.star It is one of the best decisions I have made on behalf of my kids.star It is one of the best decisions I have made on behalf of my kids.star It is one of the best decisions I have made on behalf of my kids. – Aileen Sparrowhawk (Mother)

Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School

#Taekwondo #ChildrensClasses #Brighton #Hove #BrightonMartialArts

Fitness, strength and confidence

JamaicaWorldCup + tuv sept2014 008 198x300 Fitness, strength and confidence My 9 year old Thomas has being studying Taekwon-Do for four years and is now working towards his blue belt. He really enjoys the fitness and strength exercises and is always working towards his next belt.

Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School, works so well and retains pupils because they have steps between each coloured belt earning a progression of coloured tags on their belt before moving up to the next coloured belt.

Instructor Howard Mayes teaches them, that Taekwon-Do is for self defence and sport and not for getting into fights and explains how with Taekwon-Do their confident demeanour can help them walk tall and avoid conflict.

Training sessions are fun, but disciplined with no-nonsense and Howard uses several of his black belt students to help train the younger less experienced kids. The mixed age groups and abilities means the younger kids look up to the older and/or more qualified students.

The Taekwon-Do itself has a series of complicated ‘patterns’, or ‘set moves’ that have to be learnt along with the Korean names for each move. This is a good exercise in discipline and memory.

Once they get their white belt black stripe they put on their soft pads and protective gear and do non contact‘ free sparing’ in the lessons or contact sparring for at the regular inter club competitions –they all seem to love this.

Rating: star Fitness, strength and confidence star Fitness, strength and confidence star Fitness, strength and confidence star Fitness, strength and confidence star Fitness, strength and confidence  – Robert Davies (Father)

Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School

#Taekwondo #ChildrensClasses #Brighton #Hove #BrightonMartialArts

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do classes are varied and fun

BlackBeltCerts+ Feb 2014 003 198x300 Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do classes are varied and funAlexander has loved learning Taekwondo with Mr Howard Mayes. The classes are varied and fun, with a mix of fitness, technique and theory.

Mr Mayes has the rare gift of inspiring and maintaining children’s interest. Alexander’s confidence and concentration have improved. The high level of fitness which Mr Mayes classes have given him has also served as a good base for his other sporting interests.

The opportunity to grade regularly and learn new patterns and techniques has inspired Alexander to progress and develop a real passion for Taekwon-Do. There are also tournaments throughout the year which give a real focus to the training and the opportunity to compete.

I highly recommend Mr Mayes’ classes at Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do.

Rating: star Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do classes are varied and funstar Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do classes are varied and funstar Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do classes are varied and funstar Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do classes are varied and funstar Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do classes are varied and fun – Christopher Riley (Father)

#Taekwondo #ChildrensClasses #Brighton

Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lesson

ReviewCharlieBenjiArchie Feb 2013 009 200x300 Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lessonWithin a few weeks of starting at Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School Archie’s fitness, focus and self confidence improved beyond expectation. It is great to see him being inspired to master new techniques and embrace new ideas by the patient teaching of Mr Mayes. The lessons are a great mix of team work and individual performance and the benefits to Archie in other parts of his life are clear to see.

Rating: star Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lessonstar Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lessonstar Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lessonstar Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lessonstar Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lesson – Becky (Archie’s Mum)

Since I started Taekwon-Do my focus and confidence at school has improved and the same with my athleticism. Under Mr Mayes guidance I have been able to focus and progress from white belt to blue tag, in just under a year. I now have my sights set on being a black belt. I really like Mr Mayes’ lessons, Taekwon-Do has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lesson.

Rating: star Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lessonstar Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lessonstar Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lessonstar Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lessonstar Taekwondo has improved all aspects of my life and I am always looking forward to the next lesson –  Archie Morell

#Brighton #Hove #Taekwondo #BrightonMartialArts

Although he loves sports in general, Taekwon-Do has been one of his favorite

ReviewCharlieBenjiArchie Feb 2013 003 200x300 Although he loves sports in general, Taekwon Do has been one of his favorite Charlie is 7 years old and currently one of the youngest students obtaining blue tags at Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School. He trains once a week, somehow likes the Xtreme team training the most.

Although he loves sports in general, Taekwon-Do has been one of his favorite and his sit ups are definitely better than his mum’s!

Taekwon-Do helps Charlie keep active and make new friends, but he also benefits from following instructions (still working on it  but I guess it is expected for a 7 year old) and showing respect for instructors and seniors as well as control towards smaller children.

Rating: star Although he loves sports in general, Taekwon Do has been one of his favorite star Although he loves sports in general, Taekwon Do has been one of his favorite star Although he loves sports in general, Taekwon Do has been one of his favorite star Although he loves sports in general, Taekwon Do has been one of his favorite star Although he loves sports in general, Taekwon Do has been one of his favorite  – Lan Xiao (Mum)

#Brighton #Hove #Taekwondo

As a parent I can’t recommend the children’s classes highly enough.

20121117 092752 179x300 As a parent I cant recommend the childrens classes highly enough.Fun Family Fitness

I began my training with Howard Mayes, Chief Instructor, over 20 years ago. I’ve had a few lengthy breaks along the way but I’ve always returned to Taekwon-Do and I enrolled my son as soon as he was old enough.

Both adult and children’s classes have a fun and relaxed atmosphere, and have students with a wide range of ability and fitness levels. Everyone is welcome and the senior students go out of their way to support the beginners. The classes are varied with a mix of fitness, sparring, patterns, self defence and practice of techniques. With so many classes available you can always find a time and location that suit.

As a parent I can’t recommend the children’s classes highly enough. The classes are structured to build the confidence and fitness levels in the kids, and the syllabus allows for continued progression and recognition which keeps them interested. The classes have a fun and social atmosphere.

I’ve watched Connor progress in his training over the last couple of years. Whilst he’s not a natural athlete he’s loved every minute of his training and has made new friends along the way. His generation are surrounded by TVs, computers and games consoles so making time for physical and social activity is important.

Give a class a try. You won’t regret it!

Rating: star As a parent I cant recommend the childrens classes highly enough.star As a parent I cant recommend the childrens classes highly enough.star As a parent I cant recommend the childrens classes highly enough.star As a parent I cant recommend the childrens classes highly enough.star As a parent I cant recommend the childrens classes highly enough.Anthony and Connor Drewery

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School

#Brighton #Hove #Taekwondo #BrightonMartialArts

Classes with an atmosphere where respect and courtesy prevail

worldcup oct 2012 011 198x300 Classes with an atmosphere where respect and courtesy prevailIf you are looking for a fun and enjoyable way to get fit, learn martial arts and make lots of friends in the process, look no further. As soon as my son George joined Taekwon-Do, he was instantly hooked- so much so that he soon had his two brothers joining up too.

Three years later, they are still enjoying every minute of their Taekwon-Do class and have a blue belt and two green belt blue tags to show for it. Howard Mayes is a fantastic instructor who encourages and inspires his students to achieve in an atmosphere where respect and courtesy prevail. He is always so approachable and ensures that every member of his class is made to feel valued and special whatever their level of expertise, which is probably why these classes are so popular.

The black belt students who help at these classes are excellent role models and help to coach the students in both classes and the mini tournaments and competitions that are run throughout the year.

As well as the opportunity to win medals at the competitions, children also have the opportunity to work towards badges in the extreme team classes held every month, giving children a number of different ways to achieve. Having joined Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do, you really do feel part of a community and I cannot recommend these classes highly enough.

My name is Ben, aged 7. Taekwon-Do helps me to get fit and helps me with other sports that I like to do as well. I really like Howard because he is really nice and kind and I like lots of other people that go to Taekwon-Do.

My name is George, aged 9. I like Taekwon-Do because it keeps me fit and me and my brothers have lots of fun. I like my instructor because he likes me a lot and makes me try my best.

My name is Harry, aged 11. I recently moved up to the adult group. It seems good and there are lots of really supportive people there and Howard is a brilliant instructor.

Rating:star Classes with an atmosphere where respect and courtesy prevailstar Classes with an atmosphere where respect and courtesy prevailstar Classes with an atmosphere where respect and courtesy prevailstar Classes with an atmosphere where respect and courtesy prevailstar Classes with an atmosphere where respect and courtesy prevailHarry, George, Ben and their parents Mr & Mrs. Garnham

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School

#Brighton #Hove #Taekwondo #ChildrensClasses

I have learnt so much this year and had a great time while doing so.

bnhworldcup sept12 0122 198x300 I have learnt so much this year and had a great time while doing so.Last year I moved to Brighton. I found out about Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School on the internet and within a week I was a member of the club. I enjoyed going to the classes twice or three times a week.

I felt really lucky to have found the Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School as I have met a lot of people and I felt at home straight away.

Another advantage of training at the Brighton & Hove TKD club is that you can train almost every day! So you never miss out on your 2 or 3 (for some even more) sessions a week.

Our Instructor (Howard Mayes) inspired me to train hard and this led to two unforgettable experiences of international competitions. My first international competition ever was the Viking Cup in Sweden. I have learnt a lot from training and the competition itself. In October 2012 I was so lucky to be selected for the TKD Impact Team in the ITF Taekwon-Do World Cup 2012 which was held in Brighton this year!

Looking back I have learnt so much this year and had a great time while doing so. Thanks to Mr Mayes and the fellow students, who are always willing to give good advice or to have a few good laughs.

Thumbs up for for the Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School!

Rating: star I have learnt so much this year and had a great time while doing so.star I have learnt so much this year and had a great time while doing so.star I have learnt so much this year and had a great time while doing so.star I have learnt so much this year and had a great time while doing so.star I have learnt so much this year and had a great time while doing so.Rosalie Van der Meulen

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School

#Brighton #Hove #Taekwondo #BrightonMartialArts

Taekwon-Do is keeping my kids fit, flexible and gives them the ability to protect themselves

impactopenmedals3 july12 011 198x300 Taekwon Do is keeping my kids fit, flexible and gives them the ability to protect themselvesMy son Tom has been learning Taekwon-Do for over three years and at the beginning of this year his younger sister Mimi joined.

From word go Howard Mayes has been fantastic at getting my kids to listen, learn and generally behave themselves. He has a magical ability of getting the children to feel comfortable and relaxed which benefits their learning no end.

The class set up at Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do Schoolis ideal with Howard’s younger black belts acting as teacher’s assistants, or role models from the children’s perspective which again benefits their learning.

Starting the class with cardio and then moving onto the actual kicks,punches and patterns over the course of an hour Taekwon-Do it is keeping my kids fit, flexible and gives them the ability to protect themselves in a dark situation

Rating:star Taekwon Do is keeping my kids fit, flexible and gives them the ability to protect themselvesstar Taekwon Do is keeping my kids fit, flexible and gives them the ability to protect themselvesstar Taekwon Do is keeping my kids fit, flexible and gives them the ability to protect themselvesstar Taekwon Do is keeping my kids fit, flexible and gives them the ability to protect themselvesstar Taekwon Do is keeping my kids fit, flexible and gives them the ability to protect themselvesLouis Bellam (Father)

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School

#Brighton #Hove #Taekwondo #ChildrensClasses

Taekwon-Do made an instant and lasting impression

impactopenmedals2 july2012 047 198x300 Taekwon Do made an instant and lasting impressionI have trained at Brighton And Hove Taekwon-Do since March 2011 and I have developed a genuine passion for Taekwon-Do.

I have briefly tried other Martial Arts in the past but I have never stuck with them, but Taekwon-Do made an instant and lasting impression. Howard Mayes is a very good and knowledgeable instructor and is always approachable before, during and after class for help and advice with techniques. The senior students are always approachable and happy to offer advice and support too and there is good camaraderie amongst everyone.

In my opinion, Taekwon-Do is the ultimate fitness as you develop all round fitness, you develop stamina, speed, strength and flexibility. One aspect of Taekwon-Do that I really like is the grading syllabus as it gives you both short and long term goals, I am currently a blue tag, so I have the short term goal of getting my blue belt and the long term goal of getting my black belt and beyond!

There are 6 classes per week, which is great for someone like myself who works shifts as I can always make it to lessons on a regular basis, there are also optional competitions available to people who wish to compete, which is one aspect that I really enjoy!

I am very happy to have discovered Brighton And Hove Taekwon-Do and I would recommend it to anyone looking to develop their all round fitness, learn Martial Arts and self defence or looking to compete.

Rating: star Taekwon Do made an instant and lasting impressionstar Taekwon Do made an instant and lasting impressionstar Taekwon Do made an instant and lasting impressionstar Taekwon Do made an instant and lasting impressionstar Taekwon Do made an instant and lasting impression -Matt Wells

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School

#Brighton #Hove #Taekwondo #BrightonMartialArts

I would recommend Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do without hesitation

brightontkdreviews july12 004 198x300 I would recommend Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do without hesitationMy children are very playful and energetic, without doubt regular exercise is a good way to redirect their energy.

For my children Taekwon-Do is an excellent way to improve general fitness as well as focus and concentration. What is more it coincides with my desire to give my children an opportunity to connect with their Korean heritage as they are of Korean background.

My son George (9 years) joined Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School last year and he has achieved his green belt blue tag already. I can see his stamina and strength are steadily building up and he is starting to adapt each technique to different situations. Recently his sister, Liliana ( 5 years) also joined the class alongside her brother. Although she is timid from time to time with learning she still has lots of fun as she receives plenty of encouragement and individual attention in a friendly atmosphere.

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School offers ITF (Ingternational Taekwon-Do Federation) Taekwon-Do and in my opinion ITF training gives you more real practical self defence techniques to develop the ability to react effectively to different self defence situations.

The training sessions are well structured so that students are able to progress at their own pace, moving through the belt grading syllabus as their skill and competence improves. The classes also emphasise personal and social development alongside self defence, the development of good manners, courtesy, self discipline and self confidence.

If you have not tried a martial art or maybe practiced years ago and want to start again I would recommend Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School without hesitation.

George and Liliana Packham

Rating:star I would recommend Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do without hesitationstar I would recommend Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do without hesitationstar I would recommend Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do without hesitationstar I would recommend Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do without hesitationstar I would recommend Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do without hesitationSug-Kyung Packham (Mother)

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School

Brighton Martial Arts.

#Brighton #Hove #Taekwondo #KidsClasses

One of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

impactopenmedals2 july2012 046 198x300 One of the best decisions Ive ever made.Having previously done mixed martial arts for a few years I decided to try something new so I researched other types of martial arts. I attended a few classes for different types of karate but they didn’t really interest me. Then I found out about Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School on the Internet and decided to try it out. That was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made, I really enjoyed the class and I knew straight away I wanted to do Taekwon-Do.

I have been doing Taekwon-Do for a year and a half now and have noticed that I have become stronger, faster and more flexible. Each class is challenging in different ways which is great because it makes it really fun and at the end of a class you feel like you have achieved something. My favourite part of each lesson is at the end – sparring! I think it’s the most exciting part! With Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School there are many opportunities to do competitions which is great fun and feels rewarding putting all of the hard work from training into good use and gaining a medal! I have already taken part in two competitions winning a gold medal in sparring each time.

Each class is an intensive workout and makes you feel really happy afterwards, as you get a sense of relief from any stress or tension. I would definitely recommend Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School to people of all ages who want to have fun, get fit and learn Taekwon-Do!

Rating: star One of the best decisions Ive ever made.star One of the best decisions Ive ever made.star One of the best decisions Ive ever made.star One of the best decisions Ive ever made.star One of the best decisions Ive ever made.Vicky Merezhko

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School

Brighton Martial Arts. Women’s Martial Arts Brighton, Fitness training Brighton, Brighton MMA. Brighton Women’s Martial Arts, MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

Training at Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do is really fun

impactopenmedals3 july12 006 198x300 Training at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do is really funSince I have been training in Taekwon-Do i have improved both my fitness and discipline, and this has shown across my daily life.

However, this is not the main reason I do taekwondo, the main reason is that training twice a week is REALLY fun, and proves to be a good challenge every time!

I also enjoy the fact that from training regularly at Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School I am getting stronger, fitter, harder, faster.

Rating: star Training at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do is really funstar Training at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do is really funstar Training at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do is really funstar Training at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do is really funstar Training at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do is really funAbanoub Iskander

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School

Brighton Martial Arts. Women’s Martial Arts Brighton, Fitness training Brighton, Brighton MMA. Brighton Women’s Martial Arts, MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

Taekwon-Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also discipline

brightontkdreviews july12 006 198x300 Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also disciplineMy son joined Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School nearly 2 years ago and he really enjoyed it. There, he is learning self defence and he has also improved his contact with other children. Sport is very important for kids since it helps to develop them and improve their health. As a father, I can say that my son is more energetic at home and at school. Moreover, this kind of sport gives them the sense of responsibility and also discipline.

Rating: star Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also disciplinestar Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also disciplinestar Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also disciplinestar Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also disciplinestar Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also disciplineIsa Sen (His father)

My name is Hidayet, age 9, Taekwon-Do is not only self defence for me but it also make me better at stretching. Now I have green belt blue tag and my goal is too earn my black belt. To reach it, I have to exercise hard but I don’t forget to enjoy it. Sometimes we attend extreme-team junior squad sessions in order to get more qualifications (badge) it is very fun because in one hand we learn a lot in the other hand we spend a good time. Also, when we have competitions our Instructors train us very well so that we get medals. They motivate us a lot and they are really friendly with us.

Rating: star Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also disciplinestar Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also disciplinestar Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also disciplinestar Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also disciplinestar Taekwon Do gives children the sense of responsibility and also discipline - Hidayet Sen

Children’s Martial Arts Brighton

Brighton Martial Arts. Women’s Martial Arts Brighton, Fitness training Brighton, Brighton MMA. Brighton Women’s Martial Arts, MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

Classes at Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do are exceptional

reviewpics oct2011 007 200x300 Classes at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do are exceptional“Exercise & sport of one sort or another has always featured in my life. I’m a relative novice when it comes to Taekwon-Do but that never stops me having an excellent workout & plenty of fun.

For me the classes at Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do are exceptional. Each class is never the same…………you really are put to the test every time & it’s thoroughly exhilarating. Strength, stamina, flexibility, balance & agility all feature in a typical class. You are free to work at your own pace & surrounded by classmates of varying abilities so you fit right in!

My week is punctuated by 3 sessions which I really look forward to. Even when I might not fancy a class I’m always pleased I decided to go. Of all the activities/sports I’ve participated in over 40+ years, Taekwon-Do offers easily the most complete form of exercise. Adrenaline from sparring. Balance, composure & agility from patterns. Stamina & flexibility from pad work.

Eighteen months in & still looking forward to my next class. Howard Mayes is an excellent role model & tutor. Thanks to his drive & enthusiasm I’ve reached a new level of fitness & feel great! Joining the class is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I wonder what he has planned next……………………”

Rating: star Classes at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do are exceptionalstar Classes at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do are exceptionalstar Classes at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do are exceptionalstar Classes at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do are exceptionalstar Classes at Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do are exceptionalRichard Thornton

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School

Brighton Martial Arts. Women’s Martial Arts Brighton, Fitness training Brighton, Brighton MMA. Brighton Women’s Martial Arts, MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

From the start of my first class I was totally impressed

reviewpics oct2011 002 200x300 From the start of my first class I was totally impressed I have been training under the tutelage of Mr Howard Mayes since May 2009 and have steadily progressed through the belts, from the start of my first class I was totally impressed with the structure and atmosphere of the classes and still remain so, having been an active person I was looking to martial arts to further my fitness, this has most definitely been the case and not only am I fitter than I have ever been I have increased confidence, flexibility, stamina and strength.

Each class changes and challenges you so your body never gets used to a set training method so you constantly improve on all aspects be it sparring to pad work from patterns to cardio conditioning and all this due to the patience and excellent teaching methods used by Mr Mayes.

Anybody looking for a full body work out that provides a constant challenge and offers fantastic health benefits as well as a friendly welcoming atmosphere from all students look no further than Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School, I look forward to attaining my black belt and eventually assisting in teaching and many more years of training.

Rating: star From the start of my first class I was totally impressed star From the start of my first class I was totally impressed star From the start of my first class I was totally impressed star From the start of my first class I was totally impressed star From the start of my first class I was totally impressed – Wayne Knight

Brighton Martial Arts. Women’s Martial Arts Brighton, Fitness training Brighton, Brighton MMA. Brighton Women’s Martial Arts, MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

Right from the beginning we were really impressed

img 0250 timpsons Right from the beginning we were really impressed Our sons Harvey and Will have been training at Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School for four years.
Right from the beginning we were really impressed with the structure of the classes and the way they were taught. Howard Mayes is very down to earth with his students and extremely patient but he also helps them to achieve their best with plenty of encouragement and individual attention.

Nick and I always talked about starting to train but kept putting it off and finding reasons not to: no spare time, too tired, won’t be any good at it – that kind of thing. We finally started nine months ago and have pretty much been hooked ever since.

We both do other sports (I kidded myself that I liked running for the best part of 20 years) but Taekwon-Do has become the activity that we have become focussed on & committed to.

The classes are very structured – a mix of warm-ups, cardiovascular fitness, set patterns and sparring but every class is different so you don’t get complacent.

You can train at your own pace – Howard will always encourage you to push yourself that little bit further but you are never made to feel inadequate or self conscious. The ethos of all the classes is one of mutual respect and this spans across all the different ages and grades that train together.

Taekwon-Do has had a positive impact on our family. It’s something that we all do together and, as the boys are more senior grades than us, they can help and advise us (and occasionally laugh hysterically as we attempt a new kick or pattern)!

We train three times a week, or more if we can. It is hard to fit it in to a busy schedule but there are so many physical and emotional benefits that we find we genuinely look forward to each class no matter how tired we are.
We used to sink a bottle of wine every night as an antidote to the stresses of work and parenting – now we go to Taekwon-Do. The Friday session in particular is a great way to put a lid on the week and start the weekend off buzzing from the feeling you get after a good training session.

It sounds a bit of a cliché but to find a sport you really love, that you do with a great group of people and an excellent instructor is fantastic and we are kicking ourselves (in a variety of ways)! that we didn’t start sooner.

Rating: star Right from the beginning we were really impressed star Right from the beginning we were really impressed star Right from the beginning we were really impressed star Right from the beginning we were really impressed star Right from the beginning we were really impressed – Nick, Sue, Harvey and Will Timpson

Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School

Brighton Martial Arts. Women’s Martial Arts Brighton, Fitness training Brighton, Brighton MMA. Brighton Women’s Martial Arts, MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do – I love it!

reviewscomp 0311 002 198x300 Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do   I love it!I have been learning the art of Taekwon-Do now for almost three years with Howard Mayes at Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School. I make the regular journey down the M23 at least once or twice a week and find the sessions completely invigorating.

Not especially a regular exerciser before, I took up the sport in my late-40s and have not looked back – the combination of intense physical fitness, speed, coordination, stamina and agility training is unmatched in any other sphere I have ever encountered.

I have steadily progressed up the belts under Howard’s patient tutelage and every single one feels like a great achievement.

Everyone in the class is really welcoming and friendly – the sparring raises a laugh even when you are concentrating and working hard to keep out of trouble. Being a peace-loving sort of person is no barrier whatsoever, all of Howard’s students including the seniors accept you as you are.

Working on up towards black belt, I can almost imagine it now as I stand somewhere in the middle of the hall just behind the red belts. Taekwon-Do – I love it!

Rating: star Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do   I love it!star Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do   I love it!star Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do   I love it!star Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do   I love it!star Brighton and Hove Taekwon Do   I love it!Jonathan Dancer

Brighton Martial Arts. Women’s Martial Arts Brighton, Fitness training Brighton, Brighton MMA. Brighton Women’s Martial Arts, MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

It’s difficult to emphasise how glad I am I chose Taekwon-Do!!

reviewscomp 0311 008 198x300 It’s difficult to emphasise how glad I am I chose Taekwon Do!!Whilst searching the internet for fitness classes I came across the Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School website. Martial Arts?! I’d always had a passing interest in Martial Arts but never contemplated taking it up, having spent the previous 20 odd years playing football. After reading about the many physical benefits Taekwon-Do has to offer, seeing there were classes 6 days a week and noting the excellent reviews the students had submitted I thought I’d give it a go. It’s difficult to emphasise how glad I am I made this decision!!

For the first few months, much to my wife’s amusement or perhaps bemusement, I couldn’t stop thinking about Taekwon-Do; to the point where I’d be talking with friends, work colleagues etc and at the same time practicing hand and foot movements! Thankfully, I’ve rid myself of this habit but my enthusiasm for the art has only gotten stronger.

I work shifts and have a young family but still manage to train 2/3 times a week, this is mainly down to the fact there are classes 6 days a week. All sessions are run by the instructor Mr Howard Mayes and I can honestly say, in my 14 months of participation, I’ve never had the same lesson twice! My Mayes’ dedication to his students and Taekwon-Do is there for all to see and he somehow (?!) manages to keep every lesson fresh, engaging and exciting, incorporating all aspects of Taekwon-Do.

I’m always a little sceptical when I read reviews on websites but believe me, when they all put down 5 stars, they mean it!

Rating: star It’s difficult to emphasise how glad I am I chose Taekwon Do!!star It’s difficult to emphasise how glad I am I chose Taekwon Do!!star It’s difficult to emphasise how glad I am I chose Taekwon Do!!star It’s difficult to emphasise how glad I am I chose Taekwon Do!!star It’s difficult to emphasise how glad I am I chose Taekwon Do!!Murray Begg

Brighton Martial Arts. Women’s Martial Arts Brighton, Fitness Training Brighton, Brighton MMA. Brighton Women’s Martial Arts, MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

You’ll have full support from Mr Mayes and the senior students

katerinajo newclass july10 109 300x198 Youll have full support from Mr Mayes and the senior students katerinajo newclass july10 051 300x198 Youll have full support from Mr Mayes and the senior students Brighton and Hove Taekwon-Do School is a great school to join whether you’re looking for a way to get fit or wanting to develop into an accomplished martial artist.

I started a few years ago and for me training in Taekwon-Do has been extremely rewarding. I’d been doing kickboxing for a while, which I really enjoyed. What made me switch was that I could see that with Taekwon-Do I would develop far better technique and, consequently, faster and stronger kicks and more effective self-defence skills. Technique is not something that develops overnight, but with good instruction and focus you’ll be amazed how far you can get!

I achieved my 1st degree black belt last year and it’s empowering to look back at how much I’ve gained through training.

Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do is a very friendly club and have an excellent instructor. Whatever your age and fitness level you can set your own goals and you’ll have full support from Mr Howard Mayes and the senior students to achieve them. I’d really recommend you give it a go!

Rating: star Youll have full support from Mr Mayes and the senior students star Youll have full support from Mr Mayes and the senior students star Youll have full support from Mr Mayes and the senior students star Youll have full support from Mr Mayes and the senior students star Youll have full support from Mr Mayes and the senior students - Katerina Avramides

Women’s and Girl’s Only Taekwon-Do Classes

Brighton Martial Arts. Women’s Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton MMA. Brighton Women’s Martial Arts, MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

Taekwon-Do fulfilled all my criteria

lauradave jan11 005 225x300 Taekwon Do fulfilled all my criteria I came to choose Taekwon-Do because I wanted to take up a physically demanding pastime that would improve my all round fitness, challenge my limitations and had a clear set out path of progress so I could feel a sense of achievement and development. I was also looking for something ‘individual’ rather than ‘team’ based, but that had a social dimension so that I could meet with others also engaged in the activity for recreation and encouragement.

Taekwon-Do fulfilled all of these criteria – training covers all aspects of fitness, strength, flexibility, endurance balance, coordination and core muscle development. It challenged my personal limitations from the start as I was in my mid thirties at the time and had done only a very limited amount of exercise, other than a couple of sessions of Iyengar yoga a week, since my youth. I had been a heavy drinker and smoker. I was not very flexible, despite several years of yoga and my general fitness was very poor.

Taekwon-Do has a clear path of development via it’s grading system which allows one to measure one’s progress against an objective standard. Because the standard required for each grade is higher than the last, but only by a measured amount the next tag or belt always seemed achievable to me even if a considerable amount of work and personal development was necessary to be ready for the next grading.

Taekwon-Do also allows one to be an individual, but at the same time to feel a connection and camaraderie with other students also practicing the martial art. Classes and seminars are by nature social allowing for interaction between attendees but the nature of Taekwon-Do means the onus for development and progress is ultimately the responsibility of the individual.

The reason why I have stuck with training at Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do for over 6 years now is that I have seen a massive improvement in my physical state. I have developed strength, fitness, balance, flexibility and stamina beyond any I had experienced in my life previously. This has had a knock on effect to other areas of my life. I am eating a better diet to fuel my training, I now have a daily yoga practice in order to keep my muscles stretched and in good condition to minimise the chances of injury, I have more energy. By training several times a week many of the health risks of middle age are minimised including heart disease, obesity, circulatory problems and many forms of cancer.  I no longer have the desire to indulge in old self destructive habits such as heavy drinking and smoking due to the negative effect they have on my ability to train to my maximum potential.

Rating: star Taekwon Do fulfilled all my criteria star Taekwon Do fulfilled all my criteria star Taekwon Do fulfilled all my criteria star Taekwon Do fulfilled all my criteria star Taekwon Do fulfilled all my criteria - Dave Vise

Brighton Martial Arts. Brighton MMA. MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

Taekwon-Do is like my second family!

lauradave jan11 002 225x300 Taekwon Do is like my second family!I started at Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School in September 2009, and I can’t believe I’ve stuck with something for so long!

First off, Howard Mayes is the best teacher – He knows everyone’s strengths, and always comes around in class and gives everyone pointers whilst we are training. Everyone in class is so friendly, and I feel that I can ask them anything about Taekwon-Do, and they’ll help! Its like my second family!

I love Taekwon-Do because you can take things at your own pace, I never feel the need to rush things through, and you can grade up to the next belt every couple of months, so you can pick and choose. At the end of the lessons, I always want more, and I wish they would be longer.

Taekwon-Do for me is a way of life, and it has given me more confidence at work (dealing with sometimes scary customers!), and confidence out and about should I need to defend myself.

I also dedicate myself to Taekwon-Do because I lost my dad 5 years ago, and he was always pushing me to ‘join a club’, and I finally have done, for him.

To anyone, I would say give Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do a shot, it’s addictive.

Rating: star Taekwon Do is like my second family!star Taekwon Do is like my second family!star Taekwon Do is like my second family!star Taekwon Do is like my second family!star Taekwon Do is like my second family! - Laura Ticehurst

Brighton Martial Arts. Brighton MMA. MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

From the first lesson I was hooked

blackbelt certs dec 2010 004 225x300 From the first lesson I was hookedI’ve been doing Taekwon-Do for a year now and i could not be happier with it! From the first lesson I was instantly hooked. What struck me first was how friendly and approachable everyone is. All the students are extremely helpful and complimentary. They always help you out and offer advice.

Howard Mayes is a fantastic instructor! His knowledge of Taekwon-Do is outstanding. What’s more important is that he is very understanding of people’s limits, so he trains you in relation to your abilities, but always gets the best out of you and helps you improve dramatically. Furthermore he is very approachable during and after classes. He takes a great interest in your development and wants to get the best out of you all the time.

From doing Taekwon-Do my strength, fitness, flexibility, stamina and confidence has improved dramatically. Each session is a great workout and you never leave feeling that you could have done more.

I strongly recommend Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do to anyone interested in martial arts or who just wants to significantly increase their fitness.

Rating: star From the first lesson I was hookedstar From the first lesson I was hookedstar From the first lesson I was hookedstar From the first lesson I was hookedstar From the first lesson I was hooked - Alex Nikiteas

Brighton Martial Arts. Brighton MMA. MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

Everybody is very friendly, the classes have a family like atmosphere.

juniorchampsplus 030410 011 225x300 Everybody is very friendly, the classes have a family like atmosphere. Taekwon-Do, to me, it is more than a martial art, it is a way of life. Since I started in September 2008 I have gained self confidence, discipline, phenomenal fitness and a ‘never stop’ attitude.

Howard Mayes is a fantastic teacher. I am proud to be one of his many students. He gets the best out of me and with the aid of his training I can push myself beyond my limits. If you are in search of the best then look no further than Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do School.

I love training, as it is a place where I can have a hard and enjoyable work out. In all the classes everybody is very friendly, the classes have a family like atmosphere and I love working with everyone.

I find Taekwon-Do is always a challenge and am glad that I have stuck with it and I have no intention of stopping. For any person looking for something to improve fitness, to get active and healthy or just something new, I highly recommend the classes at Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do.

Rating: star Everybody is very friendly, the classes have a family like atmosphere. star Everybody is very friendly, the classes have a family like atmosphere. star Everybody is very friendly, the classes have a family like atmosphere. star Everybody is very friendly, the classes have a family like atmosphere. star Everybody is very friendly, the classes have a family like atmosphere.  - Liam Sutcliffe

Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do

Brighton Martial Arts. Brighton MMA. MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

I am so proud at what they have achieved at Brighton Taekwon-Do

thesaunders 221010 003 198x300 I am so proud at what they have achieved at Brighton Taekwon Do

Training at Brighton & Hove Taekwon-do is fantastic for my kids. I am so proud of them for what they have achieved so far. 

Taekwon-Do has boosted their confidence hugely and I can clearly see the difference in their physical strength and ability.

They have great fun and I know that they are learning a skill that will stay with them and help protect them as they grow and become more independent.

Rating: star I am so proud at what they have achieved at Brighton Taekwon Dostar I am so proud at what they have achieved at Brighton Taekwon Dostar I am so proud at what they have achieved at Brighton Taekwon Dostar I am so proud at what they have achieved at Brighton Taekwon Dostar I am so proud at what they have achieved at Brighton Taekwon Do – Claire Kilroy ( Mother )

I like Taekwon-Do because it is fun. – Louisa ( aged 9 )

I like Taekwon-Do when we learn to do the kicks. My favourite is the flying side kick, it’s cool – William ( aged 8 )

My best bit is when we do the races at the beginning to warm up. I like to try to be the fastest. – James ( aged 6 )

Children’s Martial Arts Brighton

Brighton Martial Arts. Brighton MMA. MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

Taekwon-Do has been a success!

juniorchamps may10 002 225x300 Taekwon Do has been a success!When my son Leif was 4 he was like any boy of 4, he couldn’t sit still or concentrate on one thing for more than 20 seconds. We took him along to Taekwon-Do because we’d heard it was quite structured. He spent the first four months twirling around on the spot but then it clicked and he’s loved it ever since.

Part of the secret of its success (apart from the ever patient, firm but fair, Howard Mayes) is that it’s the older kids who teach the younger ones. Leif is always more likely to absorb something they’re saying more than his parents.

So, it’s been a success. We let Leif try out both Taekwon-Do and rugby and he’s ended up loving them both and he has been training at Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do now for more than 2 1/2 years.

Rating: star Taekwon Do has been a success!star Taekwon Do has been a success!star Taekwon Do has been a success!star Taekwon Do has been a success!star Taekwon Do has been a success!  -  Gregor Findlay

Children’s Martial Arts Brighton

Brighton Martial Arts. Brighton MMA. MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms

3 year old ‘Tots’ love Taekwon-Do

nationalchamps2 0710 019 300x198 3 year old Tots love Taekwon DoMy 3 year old sons love going to Brighton & Hove Taekwon-Do ‘Tots’ classes with their instructor Howard Mayes and it’s only a matter of time until they catch me up. I’m not looking forward to two against one!

Rating: star 3 year old Tots love Taekwon Dostar 3 year old Tots love Taekwon Dostar 3 year old Tots love Taekwon Dostar 3 year old Tots love Taekwon Dostar 3 year old Tots love Taekwon Do  -  Jamie Ward

Children’s Martila Arts

Brighton Martial Arts. Brighton MMA. MMA Brighton, Brighton Taekwondo, Taekwondo Brighton, Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton BMF, Childrens Martial Arts Brighton, Brighton Fitness, Fitness Brighton, Brighton Gyms, Brighton Tots Taekwon-Do

next »
divider